United Kingdom, England

The Royal College of Physicians came into effect when a group of distinguished physicians incorporated a college to grant licenses to the qualified practitioners and punish the unqualified ones engaging in malpractice. It has four training faculties that are the Faculty for Pharmaceutical Medicine, the Faculty of Forensic and Legal Medicine, the Faculty of Physician Associates and the Faculty of Occupational Medicine. The Faculty of Pharmaceutical Medicine conducts examinations, supervises specialty training and offers Diplomas in pharmaceutical medicine to maintain high professional standards. The Faculty of Forensic and Legal Medicine founded in 2006 is an authoritative body for consultation of forensic and legal medicine-based matters. The archive collections of the college are as old as the college and have more than 200 personal paper collections from the previous 500 years which relate to European medicine and science history.

Campus Life

Although the Great Fire of London destroyed most of the original books, the library collection of the Royal College of Physicians has several rare books and a special collection of earlier fellows and these are made available to the public through appointments. These collections include about 130 printed books of classical medical texts by Arabic, Greek and Roman doctors before 1502, books of the astrologer Elizabethan and the occultist John Dee, about 3000 books about architecture, travel and science dated up to 1688, more than 4,500 tracts both medical and scientific from the 17th century to the 19th, the Evan Bedford collection which has a majority of the significant texts of cardiology up to 1970. The library collection includes biographies of prominent people in medicine, books related to the National Health Service (NHS), history of UK hospitals, medical ethics and role of physicians and the history of the college’s specialties.

Noted Alumni

The most brilliant alumni part of the Royal College of Physicians include William Harvey, James Henry Cyriax, Bidhan Chandra Roy, Pamela Rendi-Wagner, John Caius, Anna Marion Hilliard and Abdelsalam al-Majali.