United States, North Carolina

Johnson C Smith University is a private historically black institution, was established in the year 1867. The university is located in the heart of the city of Charlotte, North Carolina, USA. It offers 24 undergraduate graduate and doctoral degrees, certificate, post-graduate programs through the College of Arts and Letters; College of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics; College of Professional Studies; School of Social Work. Johnson Smith awards scholarships and bursaries for students. The university receives 7000+ students each year, coming from 78 countries, and successfully maintains a 12:1 student-to-faculty ratio. Johnson C Smith Golden Bulls, the varsity athletic team, participates in NCAA Division II and competes in 25 sports.

Campus Life

Johnson C Smith University spreads 105-acre; in an urban setting of the city of Charlotte, in the state of North Carolina. There are more than 80 student organizations and clubs on academia and profession, social and service, cross-cultural, special interests, and many more. Each year Johnson Smith conducts more than 2000 activities, like homecoming day, family day, winter fest, dark carnival. The institute provides a variety of on-campus living options, ranging from traditional style dormitories to suite-style apartments with healthy meal plans available at various dining halls in the vicinity. The university is well-known for its Greek Life, which began in 1992. The college is home to two chapters of the sorority, five chapters of a fraternity, and two social music fraternities.

Noted Alumni

Johnson C Smith University is one of the oldest black institutions in the country, having a global alumni network. Graduates have excelled in their careers. Some famous alumnae include: Greg Amsinger- former American football defensive end for the Cleveland Browns, New York Jets and Dallas Cowboys; Shandi Finnessey- American actress, model TV host; Nicole Hensley- American women’s ice hockey player and a member of the Professional Women’s Hockey Players’.